Why Is McLaughlin Running For County Council?

Here is a question from an anonymous asker that I have sat on a couple days. I don’t like to do that but I needed to hear the word of God before addressing this question that is not about any issues. The Question is “Why is Neil Sorenson being such a creep and is it true that you are only running to get a permit to rent jet skis?

I don’t really want to spend a lot of time on the first part of the question because I don’t know why he is doing it. The folks from the other jobs I have done on Maui are all very supportive and proud of what I am doing. For whatever reason, some of my former co-workers at TSA seem to have issue with it and Mr. Sorenson seems to be the worst.

Again I have no idea why. I worked with him for years and we never had any trouble that I am aware of. What I do know is that he will have to answer to his maker for the sins he is committing against me. Since I am new to this campaign stuff, I did ask advisors what I should do and they just laughed. They said that this guy doesn’t even realize that by drawing all this attention to my campaign, he is actually helping me. They said that if he really didn’t want you to win he would divert attention from the campaign. So thanks for your help Neil.

Now for the second part of the question. It is true that I tried to do a jet ski watersports business but the permitting process was a nightmare. It has caps on the number of permits that it allows. When one becomes available, it goes up for auction and the highest bidder gets it. That makes it very unfair for those who are just starting up. I came across many people who went through the same hurdles.

I feel that local laws need to be changed to help small businesses rather than not let them get started. If all I cared about was jet ski rentals, I would run for a state position not a county one.

The fact is this. Anybody who knows me knows that I gave my life to Jesus two years ago and since then I look to him for guidance. One night I was praying, aka talking to God. I asked him what I should do about this and he put the idea in my head to run for County Council. I first thought, “Are you joking God? I am flat broke and I know nothing about running a campaign.” Then God communed with me to just put my name on the ballot and enter the race and the rest will take care of itself. I obey God because he always proves to me whenever I doubt him that he knows what he is doing.

So contrary to what you hear from Mr. Sorenson or anybody else, that is why I decided to run. That is why I laugh when he insists I drop out of the race. I will not disobey my savior. I am not sure if it is God’s plan for me to win, but I know why he wanted me to run. This experience has really been a blessing and the more I tell my story, the more people become aware of the corruption and greed that has ruled this island for far too long.

About askmclaughlin

After being a teacher for 11 years, Erin McLaughlin decided to step away and start a new challenge. Politics was the last thing on his mind. McLaughlin knew he wanted to be a business owner. He just wasn't sure what kind of business until one day at the beach a tourist asked him why there were no jet ski rentals in Kihei. Then he realized that was what he would do. Little did he realize just how hard it would be to get a permit and all the obstacles that would prevent him from doing so. He and his partner wrote letters to the newspaper and talked to local and state politicians. After those attempts were unsuccessful, McLaughlin decided to become a candidate for Maui County Council himself. Ask McLaughlin is designed for the voters to ask questions of the candidate. The candidate will then give his position on the issue. Ask McLaughlin anything you want. Ask him anything you want. It can be local, state, or federal politics. Or it doesn't have to be politics at all. If you have a question, send it to AskMcLaughlin@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Is McLaughlin Running For County Council?

  1. Rhonda Glass says:

    Erin, I applaud your efforts to run for an elected position in this wholly unmitigated SECULAR PROGRESSIVE environment. We already know that many will scoff and demean the likes of you and me — and our loved ones. Read the book of Acts if you ever need reassurance. See…the enemy KNOWS that we have read the back of the Book, and we already KNOW Who wins! It ain’t the devil and his piteous minions!! Right now, the devil is dancing in the street…he is doing his utmost worst while he still can. But it’s people like you, who stand strong in your faith, that will ultimately prevail against ALL odds. Never, ever lose faith…our God is greater than all these things that threaten us day by day!

Leave a Reply

