What Other Candidates Does McLaughlin Support?

Jason from Kahului asks, “Who are some of the candidates for other seats you would most like to serve on the council with if elected?”

That is really an excellent question. If elected, I would be one member on a council of nine. Therefore, it is important to have other council members who have similar views. I have made no secret about it that I am for ousting as many as the incumbents as we can. They have not done a good job in helping local businesses and have really given in to small businesses.

I have to say that I really like Joe Blackburn running for the Wailuku seat. Coming from a diverse background including experience in police, fire, and real estate, Blackburn offers a view from a variety of places. He also believes that the laws should be designed to help businesses grow as opposed to how restricting it is now. I remember coaching his youngest son Patrick in JV football when I was at Baldwin and his older son Ikaika was on varsity. Both were great and well disciplined. A man that takes care of business at home is a good man to have in office.

One race I am a bit torn on is the Kihei race between incumbent Don Couch and Alana Kay. Although I have been an advocate to get the incumbents out, I first met Couch at Governor Lingle’s birthday. I really got the sense that he is a guy I can work with and that he would be receptive to my ideas of free enterprise. However, I really like Kay too. I have seen her at Tea Party meetings and she like me would like to see a government that operates with integrity.

The candidate I really would look forward to working with would be Upcountry candidate Richard Pohle. I recently met him at a luncheon put on by the Realtors for the county candidates. Pohle heard me sharing my ideas of free enterprise and reducing government spending with some of the realtors and he put his plate down, came over to our table and said, “I agree with everything he just said.”

He shares my ideas of free enterprise and letting capitalism govern itself with the Law of Supply and Demand. Pohle also shares my views of reducing the size of government to cut spending. He also feels that it is not the responsibility of government to give to non-profits.

Pohle is very knowledgeable about the water supply issue and I like his ideas on how to address it. https://umla.ws/

Pohle and I really hit it off and we started campaigning for each other at the rest of the event.  Pohle is contesting incumbent Gladys Baisa and there are no other candidates. Therefore, he is through the primaries already. If I am done after the primaries, I will help him with his campaign.

Thanks for the great question.

 

About askmclaughlin

After being a teacher for 11 years, Erin McLaughlin decided to step away and start a new challenge. Politics was the last thing on his mind. McLaughlin knew he wanted to be a business owner. He just wasn't sure what kind of business until one day at the beach a tourist asked him why there were no jet ski rentals in Kihei. Then he realized that was what he would do. Little did he realize just how hard it would be to get a permit and all the obstacles that would prevent him from doing so. He and his partner wrote letters to the newspaper and talked to local and state politicians. After those attempts were unsuccessful, McLaughlin decided to become a candidate for Maui County Council himself. Ask McLaughlin is designed for the voters to ask questions of the candidate. The candidate will then give his position on the issue. Ask McLaughlin anything you want. Ask him anything you want. It can be local, state, or federal politics. Or it doesn't have to be politics at all. If you have a question, send it to AskMcLaughlin@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Other Candidates Does McLaughlin Support?

  1. Rhonda Glass says:

    It is good to know that there are at least a few new faces on the roster for Council seats. We need all of you to be elected! When people like Elle Cochran are running uncontested, it makes me cringe, mainly because i have listened to her unmitigated ignorance consistently over the past couple of years. She is squarely in the pocket of the entrenched enviro-nuts, and obviously doesn’t have a CLUE about responsible government. I can only hope that Alana Kay has learned a lot from the Constitution and Principles of Liberty classes that she attended, via the TEA Party Maui. She’s a very sharp lady in many respects. Bottom line is, what Maui County needs desperately is a TOTAL change from the entrenched County Council that has run the show for way too long now.

Leave a Reply

