How Would McLaughlin Best Represent the People of Maui?

Here is a question coming from Kihei resident Jon Moore.

So, I want to know: How would you best represent Central Maui, and Maui County as a whole? Because, I have to say Mr. Guzman has not impressed me yet-even with his glitzy signs.

Ever since I decided to run for the County Council seat being vacated by Joe Pontanilla, I have come across a lot of skepticism when talking to voters. Many said that they don’t even vote because the candidates just tell people what they want to hear to get elected, never keep their promises, and don’t listen to the people.

I have been very careful about making promises. The reason is that although I am passionate on my views on capitalism, I know I am one member on a council of nine with only one vote.

America was founded with the idea of a government for the people by the people. Yet when is the last time a State or U. S. Representative asked you how you felt about a bill being discussed in committee and how he should vote on it? That has never happened with anyone I know. A perfect example of this is Obamacare. Most Americans did not want it. Yet the Congress passed it anyway. How is it a government by the people if the government ignores and/or doesn’t ask the people?

In many ways those who say they don’t vote because the representatives don’t listen are right. That is how it is. But I have a plan to take that reason and throw it in the trash. I will listen to the voters and ask their opinions on local issues being discussed.

My plan is to create a blog for Maui residents and show them what is being discussed in the council. Let’s say for example, a councilman suggests we build a bypass to Lahaina. I will write on my blog the Pros, the Cons, how much tax dollars it will cost, and give my opinion on the issue. Then I will have a poll for the people to vote Yay or Nay. I will then vote how the people tell me to. That is even if the people vote in a way that is different from how I feel. I represent the people and it is not the other way around.

I will do this for every issue except for the ones related to capitalism. The reason for that is that I strongly believe in the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness and that is something that should never be voted on in the first place.

Like I said, I am careful to make campaign promises because I don’t want to make promises I can’t keep. However, I do promise that with this plan the people’s voice will be heard like never before. How is that for government for the people by the people?

Thanks for the great question Jon.

About askmclaughlin

After being a teacher for 11 years, Erin McLaughlin decided to step away and start a new challenge. Politics was the last thing on his mind. McLaughlin knew he wanted to be a business owner. He just wasn't sure what kind of business until one day at the beach a tourist asked him why there were no jet ski rentals in Kihei. Then he realized that was what he would do. Little did he realize just how hard it would be to get a permit and all the obstacles that would prevent him from doing so. He and his partner wrote letters to the newspaper and talked to local and state politicians. After those attempts were unsuccessful, McLaughlin decided to become a candidate for Maui County Council himself. Ask McLaughlin is designed for the voters to ask questions of the candidate. The candidate will then give his position on the issue. Ask McLaughlin anything you want. Ask him anything you want. It can be local, state, or federal politics. Or it doesn't have to be politics at all. If you have a question, send it to AskMcLaughlin@gmail.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

